• Accessories
  • Art
  • Bags and Purses
  • Bath and Beauty
  • Candles
  • Ceramics and Pottery
  • Chainmaille
  • Clothing
  • Crochet, Knitting, and Needlecraft
  • Dolls and Miniatures
  • Edibles
  • Glass
  • Handmade Supplies
  • Holiday and Special Occasion
  • Housewares
  • Jewelry
  • Metal Craft
  • Mosaic
  • Outdoor
  • Paper and Books
  • Pattern Tutorials and Kits
  • Pet Stuff
  • Quilts
  • Toys
  • Weddings
  • Woodworking

mamasophs's Profile

Hi! My name is Sophia. Nickname Sophs, or Mama Sophs to my closest friends and family. I was born and raised in El Paso, TX. My heart belongs to the mountains and the desert is my home, but I gravitated towards Dallas, Texas in 2001, and I now reside in Richardson, Texas. I absolutely miss those West Texas sunsets, the cool summer nights and clear skies-so clear you can see the stars shining bright at night! The rich culture of the border town, especially it's authentic Mexican food, is undoubtedly something to yearn for. More so, family and friends I left behind when I ventured out on my own. I do appreciate the diversity and sense of community living in a city like Richardson, Texas, however. I feel at home and have grown to love it here. It's like a part of my soul is drawn to the land from a distant past or memory.

I am a proud mother of three beautiful girls. One is headed to Jr. High School (Arts and Technology Magnet School) in the Fall, and the oldest just graduated from UCF with a BFA in Experimental Animation (Arts and Humanities). I have one fur baby- a cool cat named Trixie! She's a bit of a Trickster, but I still love her like a child. I just recently started homeschooling my two youngest, due to the pandemic. It can take a great deal of work to inspire their minds and creativity, but it's also fun and constructive. It's totally worth the effort to watch them learn and grow! However, after two years of attending virtual school and then homeschooling, they're ready and excited to return to public school in the Fall. I've been in a committed relationship with my partner Joey since 2001. That's half my lifetime! Yikes. We both worked for Starbucks when we first met and moved in together a month later. The rest is history!

I am a self taught artist and handcrafter. I first learned how to crochet when I was a little girl. I was taught by the best-my grandma! However, I didn't take my handcrafting skills to the next level until about 2010. I relied on YouTube videos to brush up on my knowledge and learn new techniques. Yea, for technology! I consider arts and crafts lifelong learning skills, and there is always room for growth and improvement. I took an interest in art at a young age that lead me on a path to creating abstract art. I didn't attend art classes growing up. Instead, I turned to art as a creative outlet. Art is not just a hobby to me, it's a healing process! My perception of art comes from deep within the center of my being-my heart, soul, and subconscious mind. I find art to be extremely therapeutic. It heals the soul! Crochet does wonders for me, just the same. As someone who struggles with mental illness, more specifically OCD, SA, and Depression, creating things with my hands keeps me grounded. I haven't caught on to knitting yet, but I've tried and hope to 'perfect' it one day. I'd like to learn how to make soap, incense, candles, and essential oils. I'm also considering writing a book someday. So much to learn and do, so little time in our lifetimes!

I love chocolate, wine, poetry, reading, board games, working on jigsaw puzzles, and geneology. My favorite pastime is gardening. I enjoy sitting out on the balcony (my happy place) during the Springtime and Fall (my two favorite seasons), while I indulge in the sights and sounds, and enjoy my balcony garden. I also love Netflixing. My favorite genres to watch are all things paranormal and horror, Sci-Fi, psychological thrillers, and comedy. I enjoy listening to a wide array of musical genres, including punk, ska, reggae, rockabilly, industrial, electronic, techno, classic country, indie, and so much more.

All of the handmade items you see in the shop are crocheted by me. Handmade with love and care! After taking a much needed break and a one year hiatus, I decided it was time to start taking custom orders again. The pandemic and personal health issues really took a toll on me the past few years. So unfortunately, I didn't get around to creating new projects like I had planned on doing during the shutdown. My goal is to bring a few project ideas to life within the next few months or so. I'm also considering writing and possibly sharing patterns with followers/subscribers, and perhaps even sell some of them. Believe it or not, I've never taken the time to write my patterns down. Yowzers! It's time.

As of yet, I am currently the only person running my small business and do not have help from outside sources. I'm my own boss! How cool is that? Truth is, it can be overwhelming at times. Learning to balance it all is a must, especially at a time when hobbyist or small businesses are expected to mass produce items, and everyone wants instant gratification.

Aside from Handmade Artist, I run storefronts on other sites like Square, Ko-Fi, GoImagine, and Facebook. In my spare time, I am a paranormal investigator with a local non-profit organization (ASUP, Inc., TAPS Family Member) that I have been involved with since 2008. On occasion I will join my team members out in the field to investigate an active case. I mostly work remotely from home. I previously held the title: Team Lead, Audio Evidence, and volunteered briefly on the research team. I am currently the Website and Social Media Manager. I'm also a wedding officiant, and #OCDvocate.

I am honored to be part of the Handmade Artists community and dedicated to making your experience a fun and refreshing one. Whether it's through Handmade Artists, Square, Ko-Fi, GoImagine, or Facebook, I am really looking forward to getting to know you and serve you.

Thanks for taking the time to visit my shop! I truly appreciate your support.

Mama Sophs

Female, Born on May 15

Favorite Items
mamasophs has no Favorite Item yet