Author Topic: "Twitter 101: Signing Up & Basic Twitter Skills"  (Read 4845 times)

Offline lovely7designs

• View Profile
    • Lovely 7 Designs on Etsy
"Twitter 101: Signing Up & Basic Twitter Skills"
« on: August 17, 2010, 11:35:54 PM »
This tutorial was born as an email.  A very long email that every new member should read before entering the Twitterverse and representing HAF online.  Even though this is vital information, it will never take the place of chatting with a HAF team member about the way they use Twitter as a tool for building their own business and promoting the group.

I'm by no means a Twitter expert, but this tutorial will give you the basic skills needed to start a Twitter account, promoting yourself, other HAF members, and the HAFshop.

-If I've explained anything incorrectly, or left anything out, add it as a comment and we can modify the post as needed.-

Twitter 101:

Go to http://twitter.com/ and click on the yellow "sign up" tab on the right side of the page.  This will take you to the account sign up page.  Fill in the boxes.  For your username, you will want to use the same name as your HAF or Etsy shop so you are recognized and your tweets are easily associated with your shop.  The goal is to build a brand that your customers can find and follow easily across different social media websites.  I used my Etsy shop name "lovely7designs" as my username on Twitter, Blogspot, my fan page on Facebook, Paypal and any other sites associated with my online selling.  If you haven't already, now would be a good time to set up a separate email account for your business.  I'm a fan of gmail, but any email service will do.