Author Topic: Introduce Yourself  (Read 1200522 times)

Offline Elena Adams Designs

• View Profile
    • Elena Adams Designs
Re: Introduce Yourself
« Reply #180 on: May 25, 2009, 12:21:05 PM »
Alright, I've finally found a moment to get in here! I've been watching some of the posts from Twitter, but I'm a little swamped lately. It looks like a great forum, and I'd love to get involved (although I'm sure my involvement will be flaky at best).
My name is Elena Adams, and I've been making jewelry for about eight or nine years. I'm originally from Australia, but moved to California five years ago so that my husband could start a Stanford PhD. I first started when a friend dragged me to a silver jewelry workshop where I learned to cut jump rings and make a double helix chain http://www.elena-adams.com/bracelets/helix_ss.html. I worked at The Bead Shop in Palo Alto until it closed last year as their Web Manager and had the opportunity to take some lessons from some of the Bay Area's best teachers, and even got into teaching myself.
I love chain maille, and am constantly fascinated by what can be done with simple rings. I adore fine gemstones and would rather have a new strand of shiny darlings than most other luxuries.
In my jewelry, I aim for unique, high-end designs, with a focus on chain maille and delicate gemstones.
To pay the bills, I also work for a wedding photographer as Production Manager, where I'm learning a lot about small business and photography. The dream is that one day the jewelry business will take off and be enough to live on.

Offline TheSilveredGriffin

• View Profile
    • The Silvered Griffin
« Reply #181 on: May 25, 2009, 12:24:46 PM »
Hi Everyone,

I'm Lindsey, I've been making chainmaille for several years but have only recently started promoting my work.  I have a very dinky little etsy shop (http://www.thesilveredgriffin.etsy.com) that I hope to add more pieces to soon.  Also, I can be found on twitter (http://twitter.com/kunoichi06).