Author Topic: Making the most out of pictures  (Read 15016 times)

Offline ArtistLeSensual

• View Profile
Making the most out of pictures
« on: February 17, 2014, 01:15:30 PM »
 :) Hello, my name is Janette and I am the proud owner of Artist Le Sensual.  I am also a very creative jewelry maker, but when it comes to taking pictures to enhance my creations, I have struggled with from day one.  I would love to receive some tips and constructive advice on my site.  I have not made a sale yet and when I look at my store...I can see why.  :( Thanks for your help in advance...Blessings Janette

Offline trusk4u

• Handmade is always a journey of discovery!
    • View Profile
Re: Making the most out of pictures
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2014, 03:24:33 PM »
I am by NO means an expert on pictures! That being said, right off the bat your pictures are dark to me and sort of confusing. If you are going to use a dark background be sure there is NO lint and it is matte. Any shine from the fabric affects your pictures.  I used to use props like shells, flowers, rocks etc. in my pictures. I have stopped because it gave my shop an inconsistent look. Now it's a plain white background, and white everything else like necklace bust, etc. Mine still aren't fabulous, but they are pretty consistent. I'm sure others will chime in on this too. Good luck!

Offline Larissa

• Reef Botanicals
  • Global Moderator
  • Act well your part, there all the honour lies.
    • View Profile
    • Reef Botanicals
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2014, 06:55:20 PM »
It's true, some of your backgrounds are busy.  With detailed jewelry like you have, I'd stay away from any sort of texture or print in the background.  Stick with solid colors, like Teresa suggested.